Money Makes the World Go ‘Round

Standard

Some of the lucky few went to private schools, but most of us went through the public school system. There are many advantages to both sides of the spectrum, but one thing that is a huge advantage to goin’ to a private school is the amount of fundin’ that’s provided.  Bein’ from a small town AND bein’ a teachers kid, I know first hand how hard it is for school districts and teachers alike when it comes to underfunding.

I realized this, once again, while studying for my Spanish I test this weekend. At Crescent, we don’t have a foreign language teacher on staff. While Spanish was offered, it was only offered over I-TV, and during the one and only AP class the school offered. The school district didn’t have enough funding to hire a teacher. It’s really hard to understand something like a foreign language without someone there to actually help you face-to-face.  This is a HUGE disadvantage for me because I MUST have 10 hours of foreign language to graduate with my degree, since I didn’t take any  classes in high school.

Please be aware of the struggles public school districts go through. There has to be a solution to getting more funding to small school districts. I don’t know what the solution should be, but what we’re doing right now is not cutting it.

About macebwilson

Hi! I'm a 20-year-old college student at Oklahoma State University. I came from a very small town in central Oklahoma and all my friends think I "live in the boonies." I love sports, music, friends, family, and God! I like to think I have an unique outlook on what it's like to move from the small town to the city, or at least as much as you can call Stillwater the city.

I love your opinions and comments!

