Playing Santa to Your Santa Claus

Standard

Christmas time is a great time to lay back, relax, bake cookies, spread holiday cheer, and do a million other things. My favorite thing is to shop for everyone’s Christmas presents. Now I know what you’re thinking, “She’s a female and she’s in a sorority, of COURSE she likes shopping.” Well I’ll be the first to admit that I love a good shopping trip, but the reason I like Christmas shopping is because I get to think about what I want to get each person on my list.

If any of you have farmers in your family, you know the struggle it can be to get something that’s useful and cool, like a socket wrench (I’ve always thought they were so fun to play with), for “your farmer” as my momma puts it. This year there are several things on my list to get the farmer in my life, my dad. Through the years I’ve learned that it’s not necessarily how much the gift costs, but the usefulness of the gift. The best example I can think of is a pocket knife. There’s no self-respecting small town guy that doesn’t have a pocket knife to pull out and use at the drop of a hat.

The most important thing to remember when you’re buying your farmer a gift is to keep it practical and make it from the heart. I know that sounds corny, but it’s the truth! If they know how much thought you put into their gift, they’ll think about you every time they use that tool!

About macebwilson

Hi! I'm a 20-year-old college student at Oklahoma State University. I came from a very small town in central Oklahoma and all my friends think I "live in the boonies." I love sports, music, friends, family, and God! I like to think I have an unique outlook on what it's like to move from the small town to the city, or at least as much as you can call Stillwater the city.

I love your opinions and comments!

