Basketball: A Way of Life In Small Town USA

Standard

I know I’ve written about a lot of things that are happening in the agriculture world lately. While what happens in the agricultural world is still important to me, I think it’s more important to talk about how I’m adjusting to life outside of my hometown. Originally, that was what my blog was supposed to be all about. Somewhere along the way, I’ve fallen off course.

So to get back to where my life is at…

My family is extremely important to me. Always has been, always will be. I love my family more than anything in this world.

Another thing that I really enjoy is basketball. I’ve always enjoyed playing and watching games. From the time I was 6 months old, I’ve been attending basketball games at all levels.

I think it’s just one of those SmallTownThings. You simply play sports and show animals. Since the latter makes me sneeze uncontrollably, I took the athletic route. It’s like a town event every time there’s a home game of any sport. In my hometown, basketball games are especially packed.

While I enjoyed playing while I did, I’m glad that stretch of my life is over. I like playing for fun still, but things being on the line when you play, I don’t like that much anymore.

I’ve now passed the proverbial athletic torch down to my sister, Morgan. It’s kind of crazy how crazy I was about sports in high school. I would get fired up about a bad call and things like that on a regular basis. How I was in high school is NOTHING compared to how I feel at my sister’s games. I’m kind of a protective person so when I feel like someone is picking on my 5’7″ 11 year old “baby,” saying I get a little heated is putting it mildly.

I have enjoyed watching Morgan start school basketball this year. She has improved so much and I’m so proud of her. I mean she’s 11 so there’s always room to improve, but I think she’s headed off to a good start. She is going to love playing basketball as much as I did, I can already tell. She’s going to have a great SmallTownExperience because she will know what it’s like to feel the love of the fans in the stands when you’re playing on the court.

We’ll talk more next week. Until then, reach for the stars without forgetting about your roots.

About macebwilson

Hi! I'm a 20-year-old college student at Oklahoma State University. I came from a very small town in central Oklahoma and all my friends think I "live in the boonies." I love sports, music, friends, family, and God! I like to think I have an unique outlook on what it's like to move from the small town to the city, or at least as much as you can call Stillwater the city.

I love your opinions and comments!

