What’s Varsity Review Again??

Standard

From the life of this SmallTownGirl…

I just got done with this thing called Varsity Review (also known as VR). For all of you that don’t know what that is, it’s basically a singing, dancing skit where a fraternity and sorority match up to compete against each other at Oklahoma State. It’s kind of a big deal throughout the Greek community (Yes I’m annoying about how much I talk about Greek life, you’ll figure this out, the more you read my blog).

I’ve spent the last four months of hours and hours a week practicing. At times I’ve hated it, but honestly, some of the best memories of my life in my sorority have came from doing Greek shows, particularly VR.

So you want to know how this ties into my whole SmallTownProblems situation. Well, in my hometown, I never really got to be in any productions because we didn’t have a theater department. The most acting I was allowed to do was be in the musicals that the (small) vocal department put on. I took dance growing up, but those lessons stopped once I got to junior high and sports became “more important.”

Shows have been a great way for me to express the side of myself that I didn’t get to in high school. I get to act and sing and dance. I get to be free from what people will think if I do those things. That’s a great example of how ¬†moving away from my hometown has helped me grow as an individual. I’ve been able to try and experience new things that I would have never gotten to experience otherwise.

We’ll talk more next week. Until then, reach for the stars without forgetting about your roots.

About macebwilson

Hi! I'm a 20-year-old college student at Oklahoma State University. I came from a very small town in central Oklahoma and all my friends think I "live in the boonies." I love sports, music, friends, family, and God! I like to think I have an unique outlook on what it's like to move from the small town to the city, or at least as much as you can call Stillwater the city.

I love your opinions and comments!

