The Bright Lights of a Director’s Life

Standard

From the life of this SmallTownGirl…

I absolutely love Greek life. I love everything about it (well almost, I despise the stereotypes, but other than that I love it).

One of my favorite things about Greek life are the singing, dancing shows. This year, I was elected to be a director for my chapter’s Spring Sing performance. I am extremely excited about it! I have not been a director since Freshman Follies my sophomore year. Being a director is not only a great way to give back to my chapter, it is also a great example of leadership for my resume.

Spring Sing is another Greek show. But instead of truly dancing, this performance is done on risers. It’s basically a show choir 6-minute show. It’s a lot of fun, but as always being a director, it will be a lot of hard work. I know that while I already have a busy schedule with, it is about to get a whole lot busier.

I know that had I not been encouraged to join a sorority by the assistant librarian at my high school my senior year, I would not have the opportunity to have such leadership roles anywhere else on campus. I am so thankful to have Ms. Askew in my life. She has been a mentor to me from the start. I know that had I not been pushed, I would not have thought to go Greek upon coming to college. I thank my lucky stars all the time that her and her husband moved into town my senior year of high school. Honestly, Mr. and Mrs. Askew moving to my hometown could be the single most beneficial thing that I might have gained from my high school experience.

We’ll talk more next week. Until then, reach for the stars without forgetting about your roots.

About macebwilson

Hi! I'm a 20-year-old college student at Oklahoma State University. I came from a very small town in central Oklahoma and all my friends think I "live in the boonies." I love sports, music, friends, family, and God! I like to think I have an unique outlook on what it's like to move from the small town to the city, or at least as much as you can call Stillwater the city.

I love your opinions and comments!

