Drivin’ Dirt Roads Late at Night

Standard

In the life of this SmallTownGirl…

If you have never driven around on a dirt road late at night, you are missing out. It may seem like a “scary” thing to do, but honestly, there is nothing more freeing. Some of the best memories of my life have been driving around in the dark on a back road. There’s a lot to be said about the simple things in life.

Last weekend, my best friend Carley and I decided to ride around and talk. If we have something semi-important to talk about, it’s not uncommon for us to do that (and by uncommon, I mean we do it every time). Before we realized what we were doing, we had hit onto a dirt road.

Now both of us being from small towns, this is just a natural progression of our “talking drives.” We both just feel comfortable in the dark where you can see the sky. Where you can get away from the hustle and bustle. Where you can see every star in the sky. It’s soothing to both of us to be able to go into that environment.

I think it’s important for everyone to take a break from their busy lives and just take a few minutes to appreciate what is going on around them, not just what all they need to get done for the day, week, month or year.

There are so many lessons I have learned since moving away from my hometown. Some of them are the ones that I learn from certain experiences a larger town has afforded me. Other lessons are lessons that I actually learned at home, but I never truly appreciated them until I didn’t have them at my disposal any more.

If you have never driven around on a dirt road late at night, you are missing out. It may seem like a “scary” thing to do, but honestly, there is nothing more freeing. Some of the best memories of my life have been driving around in the dark on a back road. There’s a lot to be said about the simple things in life.

The best example of having fun like this was this past weekend. My best friend Carley and I decided to ride around and talk. If we have something semi-important to talk about, it’s not uncommon for us to do that. Before we realized what we were doing, we had pulled onto a dirt road.

We’ll talk more next week. Until then, reach for the stars without forgetting about your roots.

About macebwilson

Hi! I'm a 20-year-old college student at Oklahoma State University. I came from a very small town in central Oklahoma and all my friends think I "live in the boonies." I love sports, music, friends, family, and God! I like to think I have an unique outlook on what it's like to move from the small town to the city, or at least as much as you can call Stillwater the city.

I love your opinions and comments!

